Minutes of Meeting 06-28-2010

On July 7, 2010, in Uncategorized, by Flagler County Stamp

73 members and guests attended.

President David Rosenthal called meeting to order at 6 p.m. and welcomed everyone.  Our president had a moment of silence for our departed friend and club member John Swanson, who recently passed away.  This meeting is DEDICATED to John’s memory.

Club treasurer, John Defoe gave the treasury report.  Dave thanked club member Robert Kegley for all the advice he gives about the web page.  Club member Michael Nishti announced we still have the club shirts for sale.  Dave announced that the auction sales at the August meeting will go to the charity The Safe House in Bunnell.  We wish to thank club member Kraze Koslacki for putting this overture to the club.  This will be the club’s 1st annual charity auction.  Christine Speno, a writer for the St. Augustine Record, attended our meeting to obtain information for an article she will write about the club.  Club member Dean Robinson gave an excellent presentation on the U S Mint coin production figures.  He also stated how the mint has cut back on coin production and how hard it is to find rolls of coins at local banks.  Club member Dean Robinson gave an excellent trivia presentation on Alaska coins and then gave away mint state Alaska quarter dollars to the members/guests that answered the trivia questions.  Dave closed out the presentations with a talk on a set of presidential birth date covers from 1937 and a short talk on Bangladesh unofficial stamps.  Our 50/50 winner was #110 Danny Russell.  Our door prize winners were #141 Carol Schwarts and #74 Charles Cohen.  A break was taken to review auction items and to share in Silvia Rosenthal’s birthday cake. (see pictures on web site)  There were 24 lots auctioned off consisting of stamps and coins.  Club members and guests had lots of fun as the auction was being conducted by C.L., Frankie and David.   The meeting adjurned at 8:30 p.m.

S. Stephens, secretary

New members:  #160 Mark Welch (coins)

#161 Joseph Buccini (coins & stamps)     #162 Philip Sothen (coins)                   

#163 Al Sanfilippo (coins)


Comments are closed.